top of page
illustration-of-a-boy-nicely-dressed-sitting-at-h (18).jpg

Who is my neighbor?

Everyone is our neighbor.

These awards celebrate the good that others see in their neighbor. That selfless service to God through neighbor without any thought to themselves in the spirit of Mother Teresa and Fred Rogers of Mister Rogers Neighborhood.

"It is because of Mother Teresa and Mister Rogers and the countless neighbors and saints like them that I knew personally in my own life that inspired the launching of these awards. I cannot think of a better way to honor God by honoring our neighbors through these Good Neighbor Awards." -Carlos Michael

i-want-to-see-a-young-boy-standing-at-his-desk-wit (7).jpg

"The world is my neighborhood!"

How did Fred Rogers define a good neighbor?

According to the Philanthropy Daily website (Jan, 30, 2020): Fred Rogers himself seemed to endorse an idea of neighborliness that extended far afield of place and propinquity. He spread welcome messages about the value to you of every child, no matter who they were, where they lived, what they looked like, or what connection they might have to you. Everyone is our neighbor.

The Carlos Michael Good Neighbor Awards are purposed to celebrate the spirit of good neighborliness by annually recognizing 12 outstanding ordinary neighbors [2 individuals, couples, youth, and 1 parish community and for profit or non-profit business organization], who are nominated by their peers, for their extraordinary ability to engage and challenge members of their parish communities and neighborhoods to become better neighbors in the spirit of brother and sisterly love.

Call for Nominations opens April 1, 2024 and close at 3:00 PM on June 30, 2024. Award winners will be announced Saturday, August 31, 2024 on this website. Awards will be presented on Saturday, October 12, 2024 at the Property Event Center in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma.

Who will you nominate as your Good Neighbor for 2024!?

Note: These awards are open to all members, parish communities, and organizations of the Tulsa Diocese and Eastern Oklahoma.

bottom of page